Meet the Project Team

Sarah Bowen, Ph.D.
Project Director

Associate Professor of Sociology
North Carolina State University
919.515.0452
sarah_bowen@ncsu.edu

Sinikka Elliott, Ph.D.
Co-Principal Investigator

Associate Professor of Sociology
North Carolina State University
919.513.0285
sinikka_elliott@ncsu.edu

Co-Investigators

Annie Hardison-Moody, Ph.D.

Research Scholar
Department of 4-H Youth Development and Family and Consumer Sciences,  North Carolina State University
919.515.8478
annie_hardison-moody@ncsu.edu

 

 

Susan Jakes, Ph.D.

Extension Assistant Professor, Community Development Specialist
North Carolina Cooperative Extension, North Carolina State University
susan_jakes@ncsu.edu

 

Lorelei Jones

EFNEP Coordinator
Department of 4-H Youth Development and Family and Consumer Sciences, North Carolina State University
919.515.9140
lorelei_jones@ncsu.edu

 

John O’Sullivan, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor Department of Agricultural Economics and Rural Sociology, Farm Management
NC Cooperative Extension Program Marketing Specialist, NC A&T State University
johno@ncat.edu

 

Community Outreach

Lisa Poser Valdivia, MEM

CYFAR Community Garden Project Coordinator
Extension Associate
NC Cooperative Extension, NC A&T State University
336.285.4622
eaposer@ncat.edu

 

photo

Marissa Sheldon, MPH

Community Outreach Coordinator
Department of 4-H Youth Development and Family and Consumer Sciences,  North Carolina State University
919.335.6835
marissa_sheldon@ncsu.edu

 

 

Research Team 

Lillian O’Connell, MA

Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
North Carolina State University
loconne@ncsu.edu

 

Josephine McKelvy, MA

Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
North Carolina State University
josephine_mckelvy@ncsu.edu

 

unnamed

Erinn Brooks, MS

Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
North Carolina State University
erinn_brooks@ncsu.edu

 

 

Untitled3

 Cassandra Johnson, MSPH

Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Nutrition
University of North Carolina – Chapel Hill
cassandj@email.unc.edu 

 

photo

Helen Herrera, BA

Nutrition Research Assistant
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
North Carolina State University
hherrer@ncsu.edu

 

 

 

Chaniqua D. Simpson Photo VIA

Chaniqua Simpson, BA

Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
North Carolina State University
cdsimpso@ncsu.edu

 

 

IMG_1846[1]

Daniela Garcia Grandon, MPP

Graduate Research Assistant
Department of Sociology and Anthropology
North Carolina State University
dgarcia4@ncsu.edu

 

 

EFNEP Program Associates

Kristin Larson

EFNEP Program Associate

Debbie Stephenson

EFNEP Program Associate